Atlantic 10 Bloggers(and other respected voters) Awards - 2010/2011

By Michael Weber

Discuss on Yuku  Can't Post?  Here's How

Below are the awards for this year's 2010-2011 season in the Atlantic 10 Conference.  A special thank you goes out to everyone who participated in this.  I hope to continue this on a yearly basis and will send out information for next year's preseason poll to all of our voters when the 2011-2012 campaign rolls around.  If anyone is interested in voting in upcoming awards for next season, please send an e-mail to yukudukes@gmail.com.  Due to some voters not feeling educated about some awards, they omitted their ballots as such leaving some awards with less than 12 votes. 

2010-2011 Awards:

First Team:
Tu Holloway, Xavier(POY) - Received 11 of 12 POY Votes
Justin Harper, Richmond
Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure - Received 1 of 12 POY Votes
Kevin Anderson, Richmond
Delroy James, Rhode Island

Second Team:
Bill Clark, Duquesne
Anthony Gurley, Umass
Ramone Moore, Temple
Damian Saunders, Duquesne
Chris Gaston, Fordham

Third Team:
Lavoy Allen, Temple
Carl Jones, St. Joe's
Tony Taylor, George Washington
Jamel McLean, Xavier
Aaric Murray, LaSalle

All Defensive Team:
Damian Saunders, Duquesne(DPOY) - Received 8 of 11 DPOY Votes
Lavoy Allen, Temple - Received 2 of 11 DPOY Votes
CJ Aiken, St. Joe's
Jamel McLean, Xavier - Received 1 of 11 DPOY Votes
TJ McConnell, Duquesne

All-Rookie Team:
TJ McConnell, Duquesne(RPOY) - Received 6 of 12 RPOY Votes
Juwan Staten, Dayton - Received 1 of 12 RPOY Votes
Langston Galloway, St. Joe's - Received 4 of 12 RPOY Votes
Mike McCall, Saint Louis
Tyreek Duren, LaSalle
* Dwayne Evans Received 1 First Place Vote, but didn't receive enough votes otherwise*

Coach of the Year:
Chris Mack, Xavier - Received 11 of 12 COY Votes
* Mark Schmidt received other vote*

Most Improved Player:
Nikola Malesevic, Rhode Island - Received 3 of 11 POY Votes
*Kenny Frease and Scootie Randall each received 2 Votes*
*Carl Jones, Justin Harper, Anthony Gurley, Javarris Barnett each received 1 vote*

Underperforming Team:
Shamari Spears, Charlotte(UPOY) - Received 6 of 10 UPOY Votes
Chris Wright, Dayton
Lavoy Allen, Temple - Received 2 of 12 UPOY Votes
Francis Martel, Richmond
Idris Hilliard, St. Joe's
*Idris Hilliard and Chris Johnson each received 1 vote, but didn't receive enogh votes otherwise*